LYSOLAC is GRAS, USDA approved for use in ORGANIC foods and an acceptable food ingredient with Whole Foods.
It is available certified KOSHER and HALAL.



A recent study concluded that “the use of Lysozyme as an additive in Grana Padano does not appear to be harmful in egg allergic subjects.” Read the full article, click here.

Both cheese consumers and retailers in the USA are familiar with Lysozyme on the labels of many cheeses.  It represents a choice for the benefits of natural ingredients in high end quality cheese. Over 5,000 tons of Grana Padano made with Lysozyme were imported to the USA in 2007 alone. 

Lysozyme is GRAS in the USA (its use in cheese being GRAS pursuant to the tentative final rule of March 13, 1998). The FDA established GRAS status when it is identified as “egg-white lysozyme”. However, notwithstanding the tentative final rule, there is no legal requirement to get FDA concurrence that egg white lysozyme, when used in cheese, continues to be GRAS when it is not declared on the cheese labeling. In other words, it is not legally necessary to label “egg-white lysozyme” for its use in cheese to be GRAS, but, if not labeled, each customer would have to self-determine that the use of lysozyme is still GRAS.

Of all the egg white proteins, Lysozyme has the least statistical allergenic incidence.  However, since egg-white lysozyme is derived from egg (one of the most common food allergens), its use is subject to FALCPA requirements which impose distinct labeling provisions. The labels of foods subject to FALCPA must either:

(1) bear the common name or usual name of the food allergen(s) in the ingredient list followed by the name of the food source (this is not required when the common or usual name of the substance uses the name of the food source or the name of the food source appears elsewhere in the ingredient list), or

(2) use the word “contains” followed by the name of the food source from which the substance (i.e. lysozyme) is derived.
Simply put, following are some options we recommend:

  1. “lysozyme”
  2. “egg-white lysozyme (natural ingredient)”
  3. “egg white (lysozyme)”
  4. Contains “egg-white”
  5. Contains “egg”

February 25, 1995, The European Communities Directive no. 95/2/EC authorized the use of Lysozyme in cheese production without any given limit on its dosage. Before 2005, Lysozyme was declared on the product label as E1105. Since the label change required it to be labeled as egg white lysozyme, all major cheese companies across Europe continued using Lysozyme as before. You see many big brands in your supermarket today showing Lysozyme on the label.



Home | Lysozyme | Product | Scientific Data | Certificates/Regulations | Contact | News | Links | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer

Chestnut Hill Sciences LLC
P: 845.876.8616